Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee Elects Board of Directors

December 13, 2012

Dan Roth

WASHINGTON—Building off the 2012 elections in which Democrats netted 176 seats in state legislatures, returned eight Republican chambers to Democratic majorities, and successfully held nine of the twelve legislative chambers that national Republicans were working to gain control in, the Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee elected its national board in their annual meeting in Washington, DC.

Iowa Senate Majority Leader Mike Gronstal will return as Board Chair, and the board’s first action was to retain Michael Sargeant as DLCC’s executive director.

“From Maine to Oregon, Democratic candidates ran excellent campaigns, committing themselves to attracting quality jobs for working families, improving educational opportunities, and investing in our nation’s infrastructure,” said Senator Gronstal. “We have excellent legislative leadership in these states, and I am looking forward to working with them as we continue to build our communities and make our states stronger for both working families and for future generations.”

“I am proud of the work that we did in 2012, and we are committed to building on our successes in upcoming legislative elections,” Sargeant continued. “Democrats continue to be the party of the future, and Democrats will build on these legislative majorities and return additional legislatures to Democratic control in upcoming elections.”

Also serving on the board of directors are:

DLCC Chair
Senate Majority Leader Mike Gronstal, Iowa

DLCC Vice Chair
Speaker of the House Frank Chopp, Washington

DLCC Treasurer
House Democratic Leader Armond Budish, Ohio

DLCC Secretary
Senate Minority Leader Sylvia Larsen, New Hampshire

DLCC Finance Chair
Senate Democratic Leader Dick Saslaw, Virginia

House Democratic Leader Stacey Abrams, Georgia
Representative Pat Bauer, Indiana
Senator Sean Burrage, Oklahoma
House Minority Leader Chad Campbell, Arizona
Representative Garnet Coleman, Texas
House Speaker-elect Mark Ferrandino, Colorado
Senator Barry Hobbins, Maine
Senator Wally Horn, Iowa
Senator Christine Kaufmann, Montana
House Speaker-elect Tina Kotek, Oregon
House Majority Leader Val Longhurst, Delaware
Senator Mark Miller, Wisconsin
Assembly Speaker John Perez, California
House Democratic Floor Leader Kate Segal, Michigan
House Speaker Shap Smith, Vermont
Representative Mimi Stewart, New Mexico
House Democratic Caucus Chair Mike Turner, Tennessee

Leader Abrams, Speaker-elect Ferrandino, Speaker-elect Kotek, and Speaker Smith are all new additions to the DLCC board.

In 2012 the DLCC raised the most money in the organization’s history, and the DLCC trained hundreds of field organizers who worked in states to activate voters, and they were critical in winning several elections throughout the country.

“With the wealth of talent from across the country the DLCC has the vision, expertise, and dedication to continue to elect Democrats across the country,” Gronstal concluded.