All donations matched 5X:

The DLCC’s fundraising deadline is fast approaching, rush a 5X-matched donation now to elect state Dems >>

Click on an option to get started. If you've saved your payment information with ActBlue Express, your donation will go through immediately.

DLCC Announces New Board Leadership, Members

Press Releases


December 7, 2016

Carolyn fiddler
National Communications Director
[email protected]

DLCC Announces New Board Leadership, Members
Reinvigorated Board of Directors will work to build down-ballot
Democratic power nationwide

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee Executive Director Jessica Post congratulated new Board of Directors Chair Tina Kotek, the Speaker of the Oregon House of Representatives, and welcomed seven additional new Board members. DLCC’s Board leadership and new members were elected today at the annual Winter Meeting. Speaker Kotek will be joined on DLCC’s Executive Board by new Vice Chair Val Longhurst (Delaware House Majority Leader) and Secretary Lou Lang (Illinois House Deputy Majority Leader). Drawn from legislative leaders in every region of the country, DLCC’s Board of Directors is the national governing body of the organization and helps drive DLCC’s nationwide strategy to build Democratic power in state legislatures.

“I am thrilled to welcome Oregon House Speaker Kotek as our new Board Chair, and I congratulate all of our new and returning DLCC Board members,” said Post. “Their leadership will be a crucial asset for Democratic candidates across the nation. Our nation’s forward progress depends on thwarting Trump’s right-wing agenda pushed by GOP lawmakers across the country, and DLCC’s Board leadership is vital as we wage these battles and prepare for 2017 and 2018 elections. I’m also excited to see the strength of our nation’s diverse communities and emerging American majorities reflected in our Board. Additionally, DLCC is grateful for the leadership of former Chairman Mike Gronstal and for the hard work of our retiring Board members.”

“I am honored to serve as DLCC’s Board Chair as down-ballot Democrats fight the Trump agenda in the states,” said Speaker Kotek. “Today we also welcomed seven exceptional new members to the DLCC leadership team, and I look forward to working with them to expand Democratic majorities and build progressive power in states across the country. With redistricting and so many crucial issues increasingly being decided at the state level, I am eager to lead DLCC and help shape Democrats’ state-level strategy nationwide. Democratic lawmakers across the country must continue the fight against Republican policies to suppress voting, deny equal rights, oppress LGBT Americans, restrict choice, and undermine the economic security of hardworking families, because Americans everywhere deserve better.”

Oregon House Speaker and DLCC Board Chair Tina Kotek will be joined on the Executive Board by:
DLCC Vice Chair – House Majority Leader Val Longhurst, Delaware
DLCC Secretary – House Deputy Majority Leader Lou Lang, Illinois
DLCC Treasurer – Senate Majority Leader Aaron Ford, Nevada
DLCC Finance Chair – Senate Democratic Leader Tom Bakk, Minnesota

The seven new members of the DLCC Board of Directors are:
House Speaker-elect Sara Gideon, Maine
Democratic Conference Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins, New York
Representative Eric Johnson, Texas
Senate Democratic Leader Sharon Nelson, Washington
House Speaker-elect Crisanta Duran, Colorado
House Speaker-elect Brian Egolf, New Mexico
Senate President Ron Kouchi, Hawaii

The full DLCC Board of Directors for 2017:

# # #